The Board of Commissioners for the County of Cabarrus met for the 2<sup>nd</sup> Quarter Cabarrus Summit 2019 at the Laureate Center at Kannapolis City Hall in Kannapolis, North Carolina at 6:00 p.m. on Wednesday, May 8, 2019.

Present -	Chairman:	Stephen M. Morris
Absent -	Vice Chairman: Commissioners:	Diane R. Honeycutt F. Blake Kiger Elizabeth F. Poole Lynn W. Shue

Also present were Mike Downs, County Manager; Richard M. Koch, County Attorney; Pam Dubois, Senior Deputy County Manager; Jonathan Marshall, Deputy County Manager; Kyle Bilafer, Area Manager of Operations; Debbie Brannan, Area Manager of Technology and Innovation; Lauren Linker, Clerk to the Board; Jonathan Weaver, Multimedia Journalist; Kristin Jones, Budget and Performance Manager; Karen Calhoun, Human Services Director; Bob Bushey, Transportation Manager; and Stan Parnell, Driver Supervisor.

Although a quorum was not present, the quarterly summit proceeded with the presentation. No action was required or taken.

The following municipal representatives were also present:

City of Concord: Bill Dusch, Mayor; Lloyd Payne, City Manager; LJ Weslowski, Transit Director; and Council Members Terry Crawford, Sam Leder, JC McKenzie and Ella Mae Small.

Town of Harrisburg: Steve Sciascia, Mayor; Haynes Brigman, Town Manager; and Council Members Benita Conrad and Diamond Staton-Williams.

City of Kannapolis: Darrell Hinnant, Mayor; Mike Legg, City Manager; Eddie Smith, Deputy City Manager; Annette Privette-Keller, Director of Communications; Irene Sacks, Director of Economic Development; Roger Haas, Mayor Pro-Tem; and Council Members Dianne Berry, Tom Kincaid, and Van Rowell.

Town of Midland: Doug Paris, Town Manager; Darren Hartsell, Mayor Pro-Tem; and Council Members Mike Tallent and Rich Wise.

Town of Mount Pleasant: Del Eudy, Mayor; and Randy Holloway, Town Administrator.

Also present were: Jennifer Hibbert, AECOM; Mariate Echeverry, AECOM; Donna Carpenter, Cabarrus Visitors Bureau; Page Castrodale, Cabarrus Economic Development Corporation; Katie Kutcher, Centralina Council of Governments; and Phil Conrad, Cabarrus-Rowan MPO.

Chairman Morris called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

## Dinner

The meeting began with a dinner break at 6:00 p.m. The meeting resumed at 6:30 p.m.

## Introductions and Updates

Chairman Morris welcomed municipal elected officials, city managers and other guests. Representatives from the County, cities and the towns provided an update on current and ongoing projects in their jurisdictions and recognized members of their staff in attendance.

## Presentation

Jennifer Hibbert, AECOM gave a detailed presentation on the public transportation needs of Cabarrus County. She reported on the current public transportation options related to the county needs. She then she went over the projected future needs and the cost analysis for the next fifteen years.

## Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 8:16 p.m.



Lauren Linker, Clerk to the Board