The Board of Commissioners for the County of Cabarrus met for the $3^{\rm rd}$ Quarter Cabarrus Summit 2018 at Concord City Hall in Concord, North Carolina at 6:00 p.m. on Wednesday, August 21, 2019.

Present -

Chairman:

Stephen M. Morris

Vice Chairman:

Diane R. Honeycutt

Commissioners:

Lynn W. Shue

Absent -

Commissioners:

F. Blake Kiger

Elizabeth F. Poole

Also present were Mike Downs, County Manager; Richard M. Koch, County Attorney; Rodney Harris, Deputy County Manager; Kyle Bilafer, Area Manager of Operations; Jonathan Weaver, Multimedia Journalist; and Lauren Linker, Clerk to the Board.

The following municipal representatives were also present:

City of Concord: Bill Dusch, Mayor; Council Members Terry Crawford, Dave Phillips and Ella Mae Small.

City of Kannapolis: Darrell Hinnant, Mayor; Mike Legg, City Manager; and Council Members Van Rowell and Dianne Berry.

Town of Harrisburg: Steve Sciascia, Mayor; Haynes Brigman, Town Manager; and Council Members Rick Russo and Troy Selberg.

Town of Midland: John Crump, Mayor; Doug Paris, Town Manager; and Council Member Rich Wise.

Town of Mount Pleasant: Randy Holloway, Town Administrator.

Chairman Morris called the meeting to order at 6 p.m.

Introductions and Updates on Current Events and Impacts

Mayor Bill Dusch and Chairman Morris welcomed municipal elected officials, city managers and other guests. Representatives from the cities and the towns provided an update on current, and ongoing projects in their jurisdictions and recognized members of their staff in attendance.

Dinner Break

The Board took a dinner break at 6:28 p.m. The meeting resumed at 7:00 p.m.

Presentation - Economic Development

Robert Carney, Cabarrus Economic Development, Executive Director gave a presentation on the current economic environment of Cabarrus County. He gave examples of how Cabarrus County is competing within the state, nation and around the world.

A discussed ensued. During discussion, Mr. Carney responded to questions.

Adjourn

UPON MOTION of Commissioner Kiger, seconded by Vice Chair Honeycutt and unanimously carried, the meeting adjourned at 8:10 p.m.

Lauren Linker/C

Tlerk to the Board